ARVHA, Association for Research on the City and Habitat, launched in 2017 the fifth edition of the "Prize for Women Architects" with the support of the Ministry of Culture, Secretariat of state for Women's Rights, of the National Council of the Order of Architects and hosted in Paris by the Pavillon de l'Arsenal. For the 2017 Prize, the ARVHA also receives the support of BNP PARIBAS Real Estate, Calcia Cements, Rockwool, Technal, Unibail Rodamco and Saint-Gobain.

In 2016, the prize was a great success with 178 women architects candidates who presented more than 780 projects. The international jury, chaired by the Spanish architect Eva Alvarez, has awarded four prizes and two special mentions :

- Prize Women architect : Véronique JOFFRE
- architecte Special mention award for the architect : Ingrid TAILLANDIER
- Original work: Tania CONCKO
- Young architect Amelia TAVELLA

2017, more than 400 people attended the ceremony on December 11, 2017. The purpose of this award is to highlight the works and careers of women architects, so that young women architects can learn from existing women's models and encourage parity in a male-dominated profession 2017, more than 400 people attended the ceremony on December 11, 2017.

The purpose of this award is to highlight the works and careers of women architects, so that young women architects can learn from existing women's models and encourage parity in a male-dominated profession.

As in 2016, three prizes awarded in 2017:

Young architect (less than 40 years old).

An original work done by a woman architect,

architect woman for her projects - 3 to 5 works built,

and for the first time in 2017

The International Award presented by Mrs. Mayette Holtz, Director of the Villa Medici.

In 2017, the competition was open from June 1st to September 30th. The jury met on October 31, 2017 to nominate the winners of each award. It is made up of representatives of the French Order of Architects, Béatrice AUXENT, former President and Councilor of CROA Haut de France, the winners of the 2016 Prize, Véronique JOFFRE, Ingrid TAILLANDIER, Tania CONCKO, Amelia TAVELLA, and Silja TILLNER Austrian architect member founder of the Vienna Women in Architecture, Fulvia FAGGOTO, Italian architect and founding member of the Donne Architetto Association, the President of the Jury, Eva ALVAREZ, Spanish architect, professor at the Polytechnic University of Valencia, and Catherine GUYOT, director of the ARVHA.

280 architects have applied and presented 820 projects.

The award ceremony took place at the Pavillon de l'Arsenal on December 11, 2017 in front of more than 350 people. The ceremony was introduced by Eva ALVAREZ Jury President 2017 professor at the Polytechnic University of Valencia Spanish architect. the Woman Architect Award was presented by Vincent LACAILLE Chef of the department of quality in architecture and landscape, Ministry of Culture and Communication and Véronique JOFFRE, the Original Work Prize by Tania CONCKO and the special mention by Ingrid TAILLANDIER, the Young Woman Architect Award by Amelia TAVELLA and the Special Mention by Béatrice AUXENT and the international award was presented by Muriel MAYETTE-HOLTZ and the special mention by Fulvia FAGOTTO and Silja TILLNER.









ROCKWOOL







## **Young Woman Architecte**

For the category young women Architect, the prize is awarded to LA ARCHITECTURES represented by Linda Gilardone and Axelle Acchiardo

A special mention is given to Marie BLANCKAERT pour her commitment in participation with inhabitants of region Nord.

## **Original work**

The prize of **Original work** is given to **Cécile MESCAM** for the house of recollection of the cemetery of Dinan -Bretagne.

## **Women Architect**

Le Prize of Women Architect is given to Sophie BERTHELIER for her work. The Jury has decided to award a Mention Spécial Mention TO Dominique MARREC for the prize of Women Architect agence ECDM - Emmanuel COMBAREL Dominique MARREC .

## International Prize

The prize of Women Architect is given to **CARME PINOS** for her work (Spain and Mexico) A **Mention Special** is given to **Carin SMUTS** for her engagement with inhabitants of south Africa.

> The laureates received a trophy specially designed for this prize, trophies made by Nicole BARONDEAU, glass craftswoman.

ARVHA thanks all the participants, laureates or non-laureates, the jury members for their investment for this prize as well as Mr Vincent LACAILLE, Chef of the department of guality in architecture and landscape Ministry of Culture, Mrs. Muriel MAYETTE-HOLTZ Director of the Academie of France, Villa Medici in Rome and all members of the jury for their contribution and to have analyzed 820 projects presented by 280 women architects

website www.femmes-archi.org Contact : Catherine GUYOT, directrice de l'ARVHA

Courriel : equal@arvha.org

75 rue des Archives - 75003 PARIS Tél: 01 42 77 34 20 - Fax: 01 42 77 34 30



PAVILLON de







ROCKWOOL

