The ARVHA, Association for Research on the City and Habitat, launched in 2019 the seventh edition of the "**Prix des femmes architectes**" with the support of the Ministry of Culture, the IIe-de-France Region, the National Council of the Order of Architects, the Pavillon de l'Arsenal et de la ville de Paris. For the 2020 Award, the ARVHA also receives the support of BNP PARIBAS Real Estate, Calcia Cements, Unibail Rodamco, and COGEDIM as well as Batiactu, TEMA and le journal de l'architecte.

The purpose of this award is to highlight the works and careers of women architects, so that young women architects can learn from existing women's models and encourage parity in a male-dominated profession.

In **2019** the jury awarded four prizes and two special mentions:

- Woman Architect Prize: Dominique JAKOB JAKOB + MAC FARLAN
- Original Work: Fabienne BULLE
- Mention Original Work : Marie-France CHATENET
- Young Woman Architect : Marie PERIN TICA architectes et urbanistes
- International Prize: Francine HOUBEN
- Mention spéciale : Elisa VALERO

In 2019, the competition was open from June 1st to September 30th. The jury met on October 31, 2019 to nominate the winners of each prize. The ceremony was introduced by Claudia MATTOGNO 2019 architect and Professor at the Sapienza and Jury President.

The Woman Architect Award was presented by Denis DESSUS, President of the National Council of the Order of Architects, the International Prize by Sophie BERTHELIER, the Special Mention Original Work Prize by Catherine BARBIER-AZAN and Beatrice MOUTON, the original work by Veronique DESCHARRIERES and the Special Mention by Katia DOMSKY member of CEA task force, the Young Woman Architect Award by Sandra DI GIORGIO.

In 2020, 465 architects applied and submitted 1500 projects.

In 2020, four awards were awarded and one mention for:

Female architect awarded for her projects - 3 to 5 built works,

An original work done by a woman architect, and a special mention,

Young female architect under 40 awarded for her projects - 3 to 5 projects completed or not,

International Prize, 3 to 5 built works.

The award ceremony was held in a video conference on December 9, 2020 in front of more than 1,500 people. In 2020, the competition was opened from June 1st to September 30th. The jury met on October 30, 2020 to select the winners of each award under the chairmanship of Catherine GUYOT, General Secretary of ARVHA and President of women architecture France and Spela HUKAR vice-president of the jury and representative of the Slovenian Chamber of Architects.

The ceremony was concluded by Denis DESSUS President of the National Council of the Order of Architects.

The jury was made up of representatives of the Ministry of Culture (Mrs Agnès SAAL), the National Order of Architects (Mrs Elisabeth GOSSART), Béatrice AUXENT President of ARCHITECTUELLES, the winners of the 2019 Prize (Dominique JAKOB, Marie PERIN, Fabienne BULLE, Sophie BERTHELIER), Spela KUHAR vice-president of the jury and representative of the Slovenian Chamber of Architects, Bettina DREIR-FIALA the representative of the Austrian Chamber of Architects and leader of the "yes we plan" project for gender equality in the architecture sector, Iris WEX the representative of the German Chamber of Architects and member of CEA, Catherine PAPILLON Director of communications BNP PARIBAS REAL ESTATE, and Catherine GUYOT Director of ARVHA and President of Women in Architecture







For the year **2020**, the results are as follows:

Young Woman Architect

For the Young Woman Architect category, the prize is awarded to OH ! SOM architects Stéphanie Franceschi, Marie Fade, Caroline Mangin

Original Work is awarded to **Cathrin TREBELJAHR** for her project of the Rehabilitation and extension of the former prefecture of Versoix .

The special mention is given to **Sophie DENISSOF** for her project "Habiter le ciel" and for her professional career (Agence CASTRO-DENISSOF).

International Prize two ex aequo prizes

The prize is awarded to **Anna HERINGER** for her work (Germany) and **Benedetta TAGLIABUE** for her work (Spain).

Woman Architect

For the Woman architect prize the prize is awarded to Florence LIPSKY from LIPSKY ROLLET for her work

ARVHA thanks all the participants, laureates or non laureates, Mr Denis DESSUS Président of the National Council of Achitects, and the jury members for their investment for this prize as well as Agnès SAAL (Ministry of Culture), Elisabeth GOSSART (CNOA), Spela KUHAR vice-president of the jury and representative of the Slovenian Chamber of Architects, Bettina DREIR-FIALA the representative of the Austrian Chamber of Architects and leader of the "yesWePlan!" project for gender equality in the architecture sector, Iris WEX the representative of the German Chamber of Architects and member of CEA, Catherine PAPILLON Director of communications BNP PARIBAS REAL ESTATE, Béatrice AUXENT President of ARCHITECTUELLES Hauts-de-France and all the members of the jury for their contribution, who examined **1500 works** presented by **465 files from women architects** on the website https://www.femmes-archi.org/.

Contact: Catherine GUYOT, General Secretary of ARVHA Chairwoman of Women in Architecture FR Email: <u>equal@arvha.org</u>

> **ARVHA** Maison des Associations 5, 7 rue Perrée 75003 Paris landline: +00339 84 04 39 73 mobile: +00337 50 14 90 37

