23 November 2023

2023 French Prize for Women Architects at the Arsenal Pavilion

Here is the schedule of interventions for this ceremony – in order of appearance
— 17h00 —

Marion WALLER Managing Director represented by Estelle SABATIER Communications Director

and Catherine Guyot Secretary general of ARVHA, President of Women in Architecture FR and the presidente of the Jury 2022

and Sophie BERTHELIER Winner of the 2017 Women in Architecture Award Secretary General of the Académie d’Architecture presents the jury and the candidates

— 17h30 —
Beatrice AUXENT President of Architecturelles Hauts de France
and Claire GARCIA BARRIET Special Mention Young Woman Architect 2022
and Cristina VEGA IGLESIAS Winner young woman architect 2022
— 18h15 —
Original Work Award 2023
with Beatrice AUXENT President of Architectuelles Hauts de France
and Julie DEGAND Winner 2022 original work
— 18h30 —
2023 International Prize
with Nyala MECATTAF Co-founder of Crome studio. Member of the SIA International Section Committee
Past President of AIDIA Italian Association of Women Engineers and Architects
— 19h00 —
Award of female architect 2023
with Sophie Berthelier Winner of the Prize Woman Architect 2017 general secretary of the Academy of Architecture Paris
and Christelle AVENIER Winner of the 2022 Woman Architect Award
— 19h30 —
Conclusions by Catherine Guyot, initiator of the Woman Architect Award since 2013, followed by a drink.

Open November 23 at 16h45

The ARVHA, Association for Research on the City and Housing, launched the tenth edition of the “Women Architects Prize” in 2022 with the support of the Ile de France Region, the National Council of the Order of Architects, the Pavilion of the Arsenal and the city of Paris. For the 2022 Prize, ARVHA also receives the support of BNP PARIBAS Real Estate, Ciments Calcia, Unibail Rodamco, and COGEDIM as well as Batiactu, TEMA and the architect’s journal. This prize aims to highlight the works and careers of women architects, so that young women architects can draw inspiration from existing female models, and to encourage parity in a highly male-dominated profession.

In 2022, 350 applications were examined and presented 1,270 projects. In 2022, four prizes were awarded and two mentions for:

  • Award-winning female architect for her completed projects – 3 to 5 works built, and a special mention
  • An original work created by a woman architect, and a special mention
  • Young female architect under 40 years old awarded for her projects – 3 to 5 projects completed or not
  • International Prize 3 to 5 works constructed

The jury was made up of representatives of the National Order of Architects with: Elizabeth GOSSART, Béatrice AUXENT, president of ARCHITECTUELLES Hauts-de-France, the winners of the 2021 Prize, Anne-Françoise Jumeau, 2021 female architect winner, Eléonore MORAND, young woman winner architect 2021; Marion TRIBOLET Special mention prize Young woman architect, Sara Martin CAMARA winner of the original work 2021, by Beatrice MOUTON special mention for the original work 2021, by Sophie BERTHELIER secretary general of the Academy of Architecture and winner of the woman architect prize 2017, of Farshid MOUSSAVI winner of the 2021 international prize, by Bridget MONRO Senior architect at RSHP London WIA England vice-president of WIA UK and vice-president of the jury, by Anna RAMOS director of the Mies Van der Rohe foundation in Barcelona and responsible for the research grant Lily REICH, Rosalind TSANG director of the BDP studio and co-president of the WIA committee of the AIANY of New York and Catherine GUYOT general secretary of the ARVHA, President of Women in Architecture and president of the Jury.

Open November 15 at 16h45